Monday, 25 January 2016

South Africa: Johannesburg

Johannesburg is the largest city in South Africa. It is the provincial capital of Gauteng, which is the wealthiest province in South Africa. The city was named and established in 1886 following the discovery of gold on what had been a farm. The name is attributed to one or all of three men involved in the establishment of the city. In ten years, the population was 100,000 inhabitants. While Johannesburg is not one of South Africa's three capital cities, it is the seat of the Constitutional Court, which has the final word on interpretation of South Africa's constitution as well as with issues in connection with constitutional matters.

left: South African Harbors (from a set of five) - Issued: 28-01-1993
right: Football World Cup - South Africa. The 3rd SAPOA Issue (from a set of 9) - Issued: 09-04-2010

Thanks to Fanie for this card!

No comments:

Post a Comment