Thursday, 1 June 2017

Switzerland: Churfirsten Mountain Range

Churfirsten is a mountain range of peaks that rise up to 2,306 metres above sea level over Lake Walen, Switzerland. They form the natural boundary between the canton's Toggenburg and Sarganserland districts. The name is a plural, indicating the peaks forming the historical boundary of the bishopric of Chur. It has historically also been folk-etymologized as "Kurfürsten", i.e. the prince-electors of the Holy Roman Empire who in the later medieval period (until 1648) numbered seven, which in turn encouraged the count of seven main or "official" peaks. The standard "seven peaks" of the Churfirsten are (from west to east):Selun (2205 m), Frümsel (2263 m), Brisi (2279 m), Zuestoll (2235 m), Schibenstoll (2234 m), Hinterrugg (2306 m), Chäserrugg (2262 m).

Churfirsten (Strip of four Stamps) - Issued: 11-05-2017

Many thanks to Hansjürg for this great Cover!

No comments:

Post a Comment