Thursday, 12 November 2015

Suriname: Paramaribo

Last week I also received my first card from Suriname. Suriname is a sovereign state on the northeastern Atlantic coast of South America. It is bordered by French Guiana to the east, Guyana to the west and Brazil to the south. At just under 165,000 km2 (64,000 sq mi), it is the smallest country in South America and has a population of approximately 566,000, most of whom live on the country's north coast, in and around the capital and largest city, Paramaribo. Originally inhabited by a number of indigenous tribes, Suriname was explored and contested by European powers before coming under Dutch rule in the late 17th century. Dutch Guiana remained a plantation colony until 1954, when it became one of the constituent countries of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, with equal status to the Netherlands and the Netherlands Antilles. On 25 November 1975, the country of Suriname left the Kingdom of the Netherlands to become an independent state, nonetheless maintaining close economic, diplomatic, and cultural ties to its former colonizer.

Local Dresses (from a set of six) - Issued: 17-06-2015

Thanks again to David for this great card!

No comments:

Post a Comment